The River Ebro and the landscapes.
The traditional ferry crossing the river without motor.
The old village: dockyard, watermill, arcades, Aljama arch, Jewish street, watchtower and Sanaqueta balcony.
The Old Church (XVI-XVII c.): nowadays, a cultural monument for concerts and exhibitions, temporary and permanent. You can visit it with a local guide from the Information Point.
The Templar Castle (XII c.): a Government of Catalonia heritage site. For opening hours: 977 407 368.
Blores Route: following medieval paths through archaeological remains to the watermill.
The potters workshops and the traditional pottery, in Raval Quarter.
Tel.: 977 407 134
- Restaurant Pizzo
Tel.: 977 407 223
- Restaurant Molí de Xim
Tel.: 977 407 758
- H Els Canterers***
Tel.: 977 407 936
- Casa Gran & Petita
Tel.: 656 266 398
- Bona Vista (B&B)
Tel.: 649 372 316
- Casa Iglesia (Rent)
Tel.: 977 407 655
- La Ponderosa
Tel.: 608 135 850
- Casa Rural Cal Pigat
Tel.: 977 407 013
- Casa Rural Mas la Torre
Tel.: 977 407 123
||Miravet is a little village located in the middle of the Terres de l’Ebre, in the middle of a beautifull landscape between mountains, the River Ebro and a leafy bank forest. You can enjoy the view by crossing the river with the ferry.
Arriving in Miravet on the ferry that crosses the Riber Ebro (the last one of its type that has been conserved in the Terres de l’Ebre) is an unique experience. Today, of course, a medieval tax is no longer charged for the crossing, and though cars are now transported, the ferry still uses the river current as its only driving force.
Making use of a crag, the Moors decided to found the, nowadays, Old Village, and crowning the rock, the great castle, rebuilt by the Knights Templars and transformed into a fortress-monastery, after the conquest of 1153. It is considered to be the largest fortified complex in Catalonia, and one of the best examples of Romanesque, religious and military, architecture of the Templar order in the whole Western world. It keeps alive the memory of the end of the Knights at the Crown of Aragon, who suffered a 12 month siege, between 1307 and 1308.
The other architectural treasures are in the Old Village, the Old Church by the Hospital order, dating from the Renaissance and unique in its style throughout the Terres de l’Ebre, it conserves the original stone altar from the castle, the remains of wall paintings and somes expositions. In contrast to this, we find the Islamic Arch for the Aljama-mosque in the backside of the church, and the Sanaqueta balcony over the river.
The clay pottery, the most ancestral tradition that is conserved in Miravet and in the Terres de l’Ebre, has for centuries seduced visitors who came to this town, and can now be see in Miravet.
There are still eight workshops, which are located toghether in the Raval quarter. There masters can be found making pieces by hand and still using the potter’s wheel; with shapes and glazes introduced from the Islamic world, such as pitchers,vats, jars, etc.